Hopes and Dreams


ImageThere is a quote that has always struck me….” As long as we think dugout canoes are the only possibility-all that is real or can be real- we will never see the ship, we will never feel the wind blow.”~ Sonia Johnson.

How many of us go through life, so busy in all of the day to day minutia that we forget to see the greater things, the possibilities before us? We forget to dream.  Anne Wilson Schaef recognizes this in her work centered on women who do to much.  Sometime around 1999 I had just finished her book Living in Process,  and its words had a profound effect on my life. That year I had entered what would be a long term estranged relationship with my daughter, I had been misdiagnosed with a stage 4 Malignant Melanoma (graciously grateful for that gift today), and I had turned 40. In the years that ensued I was able to personally connect with Anne, a gift that changed the trajectory of how I live my life. I reached out to her and she had accepted my invitation to travel and speak to the staff at a clinic I was working for, during a retreat I had organized. I had forgotten about that time in my life until recently when I dusted off an old copy of Meditations for Women Who Do Too Much. You see, I absolutely was a women who did too much. Do I still? Perhaps, yet different. Below is an excerpt from her book. 

“Women who do too much have forgotten, or grown afraid of dreaming. We know how to lust-after power, after money, after security, after relationships-but we have forgotten how to dream. Dreaming is not limited to the unreal. Dreaming is stretching the real beyond the limits of the present. Dreaming is not being bound by merely the possible. Dreaming is not safe for our illusion of control and it is infinitely safe or our soul. When we deprive ourselves of our hopes and dreams, we regulate ourselves to keeping our eyes to the ground, carefully calculating every step, and missing the pictures in the clouds and the double rainbows.”

Anne Wilson Schaef from Meditations Women Who Do Too Much. 

Since the time I was introduced to Anne’s work, and then Anne herself, I have been gifted with learning to dream and feeling the wind blow. To hope and dream is not to ignore the practical in the everyday, it is to enjoy it through dressing it in play clothes. 

 

What practical thing will you dress up today?

Leave a Reply

