A Dose of MO!


Getting in a dose of healthy MO this morning. My Morning Omega’s! My focus this week has been in slowing things down a bit and this morning is no different. I love to spend Saturday mornings catching my breath, taking my time, and enjoying all I am blessed with. It’s all quiet in my kitchen right now, well quiet except for the cat begging for me to share my omega laced Alaskan Salmon. Fat chance mister! Okay maybe a little…..

My amazing breakfast this morning is chock full of healthy omegas and age-defying antioxidants. I made this amazing Pumpkin Pesto last night with three kinds of Basil from my organic container garden, and my free range chickens began laying this week, and I picked the first tomato from my garden. A healthy dose of happy here!

Pesto

One of my strategies for healthy living is to always get a healthy dose of antioxidants and omegas in first thing in the morning. Pumpkin Pesto is a great way to do it. All of the ingredients in this recipe are good clean eats! The pumpkin seeds are sprouted make them uber healthy and basil is one of the healthiest foods on earth! I like to use the Spanish Olive Oil for this as it is higher in antioxidants and has a smoother, sweeter, more mature flavor than the traditional Italian olive oil. I made this Pesto in about 5 minutes flat using my Healthy Kitchen Keeper, which is akin to a Vita-Mix. I don’t process it too long-I like to keep the pesto slightly unprocessed and rough, LIKE ME! Ha!

Seriously though, keeping the pesto slightly rough and unprocessed will allow it to stick to the pasta better if that is where you are going to use it. This morning I am loving it sitting on top of some fresh tomato. Here’s the recipe, I hope you enjoy as much as I do.

Pumpkin Pesto
2 Large Handfuls of Basil (I used Sweet basil, Purple Basil, and Thai Basil-the deeper the color the more antioxidants)
1/4 Cup of “Go Raw” Pumpkin Seeds (I get mine at Costco)
1/4 Cup of Spanish Olive Oil
5 cloves of garlic
1/4 cup of freshly grated Pecorino
The juice of one lemon
A bit of fresh oregano
Process all of this for no more than 30 seconds and enjoy!

Healthy living and aging comes from within. The food you eat and the attitudes you hold. I hope both are healthy for you. Aging well is within our control, and improves upon every aspect of your being, from work and play, to sex and relationships. Have a very blessed weekend! Remember to invest in you! Eat well, live well, and love even better! YOLO!

Leave a Reply

