Listening as a lost art


I was compelled this Sunday morning to crack open the window in my office. In spite of the rain, or perhaps because of it, and the coolness of the morning, I had to open the window. I could hear the muffled sounds outside my window of a bird singing but wanted to fully appreciate what he had to tell the world this morning. As I opened the window, the coolness of the morning and the smell of the grass that had been mowed yesterday woke my senses. I could now clearly hear the fall of the rain, and with clarity hear the beauty of what the Robin had to say, and I was reminded of the gift of listening.

Sunday morning is undoubtedly my most favorite time of the week. It is the time I reflect, renew, and prepare for the new week soon upon me. I don’t just think about where last week took me, but I try to listen to what the week has taught me. In the process of meaningful renewal we must listen to the messages of where we have been. Listening to ourselves has become a lost art, listening within is a skill that, once mastered, will most probably tell you what your heart has craved for you to hear.

Listening is a magnetic and strange thing, a magnificently creative force…When we are listened to, it creates us, it spurs our hope in our ability to grow into who we can be. Ideas actually begin to grow within us and come to life…When we listen to others there is an alternating and reciprocal current, and this recharges us so that we begin to build a bond and a commitment to each other, it uncovers a spring within us and within our relationships, and it then is this spring within us that begins to flow up a renewed power and unexpected laughter and wisdom. …and even joy. A joy not experienced since we were so very young. It is when people really listen to us, with quiet fascinated attention, that the little spring begins to flow again, and to accelerate in the most surprising way.

As you move forward this week embrace your ability to listen, USE listening as a way of reflection and renewal, seek opportunities to make listening an alternating and reciprocal current, let it recharge you!

20120325-082022.jpg

Leave a Reply

