Baked Tilapia with Chili-cado Sauce


I said I would share this today and here it is. I made this Friday night and it was so good I had to recreate it today. This recipe is for two. There are many ways to vary this recipe to suit your current nutritional plan.

20120325-175657.jpg

Ingredients

2 Tilapia Loins
2 slices of turkey bacon chopped
2 Cups of wilted mixed greens
2 servings of truRoots Sprouted Bean Trio
1 Avocado
1 tsp ground fresh chili paste
1 Tbls white wine vinegar
1/3 cup lime juice
1/4 cup deli roasted red peppers (the kind that come in a jar)
2 Tbls of the juice from the roasted peppers
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp no salt garlic seasoning

Bake Tilapia in preheated 350 oven using Pam in glass or metal pan. The chopped turkey bacon is added to the baked tilapia during the last 15 minutes of baking.

While the Tilapia is cooking prepare the wilted greens, I steam mine.

As far as the beans, they are easy, about 5 minutes at a medium simmer and set for 10 minutes and they are done. You could substitute other good carb items too, like brown rice or yams. I like the truRoots sprouted bean trio as an alternative for several reasons. They are slightly less calories than rice, sprouting the beans boosts the nutritional profile-increasing vitamins and micronutrients. The protein content is almost triple, and the fiber content of this bean trio is 11 gms vs 2 for rice. They are a great alternative! If you have any sort of digestive disorders these beans are like medicine for your intestinal tract.

20120325-182817.jpg

Now for the paste, mix all remaining ingredients into a small food processor. A mini food chopper is ideal since this is such a small portion, or you could double this and save some for another dish, I am sure it would be great on fish tacos! I have to admit I like things spicy! I doubled the amount of chili paste to 2 tsp ad probably could have used more.

So thats it- once the fish is done it is ready to plate. On Friday I used fat free feta and the compliment was perfect. Today I added some NF Plain Greek Yogurt, increasing the protein and calcium content. This dish is a very healthy nutrient rich dish. I hope you enjoy as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

